Home > Organisation > Structure and Mission > Structure and mission

Structure and mission

OCTA is registered as a non-profit organization in Belgium and has 22 members – including inhabited OCTs and TAAF (French Southern and Atlantic Lands). Its highest decision-making authority is the Ministerial Conference which consists of the representatives (Political Heads of Government or delegates) of each member Government.

The Ministerial Conference meets annually and sets the political orientations and priorities of the association. It appoints a rotating Chairman who heads the organization until the next meeting, and elects an Executive Committee (ExCo) whose task is to manage the daily operations of the association.


For all Overseas Countries and Territories (OCTs) of the European Union (EU) to be on a path of sustainable development, whilst projecting our natural environment, by promoting economic and human development through cooperation with the EU as well as with regional and global partners.


Working collectively through the promotion of common positions and partnerships for the sustainable development of OCTs by cooperation, capacity building and communication.

Strategic objectives:

• To consolidate and reinforce solidarity between OCTs and EU stakeholders

• To make recommendations and carry out various projects/programmes to enhance opportunities, comparative advantage and natural assets in order to strengthen the position of OCTs at regional and global levels

• To promote cooperation and develop a knowledge centre and thematic networks in order to consolidate ownership and provide a point of reference for creating and disseminating valuable information on the relationship between the EU and the OCTs

• To create a framework to engage the private sector, academia and civil society

• To enhance the profile, the reputation and position of the OCTs